Growing Potatoes

I know that this might sound crazy, but as a kid who grew up in Idaho and who can make a meal out of a baked potato I have never grown them myself. This year I decided to change that poor sad fact.

I remember watching my grandmother dig potatoes as a kid and so many seemed to get speared by the pitch fork as she turned them up. I didn’t want to deal with that so I am growing tire potatoes this year. The bottom of the first tire was filled with straw, dirt, seed potatoes, more dirt and more straw. Then as the plants get taller the goal is to add more dirt and straw so that there are only a few leaves sticking above the straw. The goal is that when it comes time to harvest I just need to knock over the tires and the potatoes will be ready to pick off of the ground.

Since these pictures were taken I am running out of tires as the plants are getting taller and thriving. Ihope that means that this experiment is working.

Leave a Reply

